The Miracle Steel Building

Steel Buildings have been part of the Military Environment for at least 50 years now.

In my time as an old Seabee I had my encounters with the Butler Building style of assembly after the legendary Quonset hut retired.

But the first I learned of the Butler Building’s successor—the modern Steel Building–was this Quonset style hut built from a completely different design.

This 30×60 open span building is assembled from pieces-Erector Set Style- all of which fit on a pallet small enough to be transported on a flat bed truck.

Each arch in the video was assembled in five sections with nothing more than ordinary bolts and a wrench.

My primary task on this job was to ensure the base plates were laid out perfectly square so the precision pieces would fit as designed.

On that score I am pleased to say the building fit together well.

If you need an inexpensive farm building that assembles with minimum skill and can be erected fairly quickly, the Erector Set Style building may be for you.

4 comments
  1. Cliff said:

    I have a 10 x 12 shed that I need to have moved in my yard.
    Is this something you guys can do? If not is there anyone
    you can recommend?

    • handyguy said:

      There are shed companies in Raleigh that deliver complete sheds to various locations.

      I would guess they have the equipment to move them as well. Probably a small fork lift or Bobcat with fork attachment on the bucket.

      I have not had experience with any specific company.

  2. Looks sturdy indeed. This is the reason why i opt metal sheds. I hope i can address the issue of moisture though! 😦

Leave a Reply

